An interactive thriller mixing reality and fiction

In Memoriam

Transmedia fiction, Video game, Main work
“You will soon feel my warm breath on your skin. No need to close your door. See you soon, sweatheart.”

 

Edited by Ubisoft in Europe and The Adventure Company in the US (tittle Missing: Since January), the In Memoriam game was released in October 2003.

It is the first occurrence of a new kind of adventure game, completely open on the internet, where the frontier between reality and fiction tends to fade. This approach is successful and hundreds of thousands are tracking the Phoenix, a highly clever serial killer, who teases the authorities and players on his trail. The game becomes a hit. It is often cited as the reference of alternate reality games (A.R.G).

 

PresseIM

Synopsis

As he was investigating on a strange serie of murders committed all around Europe, the journalist Jack Lorski disappears with Karin Gijman, his young assistant. A few weeks late, the SKL Network agency Jack Lorski was working for gets a mail sent by the serial killer. It contains a mysterious CD-Rom, conceived like a video game. Unable to decrypt it, the agency decides, in agreement with the police, to make the only evidence leading to the journalist public. It is now your responsibility to decrypt the programme and solve the puzzle created by the killer. Are you ready to play his game?

cd-im

presse1

Teaser

Gameplay

In Memoriam is mainly playable on CD-rom. To move forward, the player has to solve the killer’s twisted puzzles. Intelligence and logic are both needed, but some of the puzzles may only be solved by looking for information on the internet.

im1_02

im1_06

4_1athoub

04_abai_02_dev

Screens du jeu

Some points of the story are inspired by real facts, blurring the limit of reality and fiction: legit and fake websites, fake news, fake comments on websites, etc. Hundreds of website were created especially for the game.

im_web

Patchwork of different websites created for the game.

The player does get emails from different characters helping him in his investigation, and at some moments even from the killer! Whereas in classic games the player embodies a virtual character, in In Memoriam, the player plays his own role. He is immersed in a story that will enter his life, creating an immersion as never before. He gradually solves the police investigation he is leading.

Chapter One (US comments)

 Films

Fully transmedia, the game contains several videos, in addition to puzzles, mails and websites. Extracted from Jack Lorski’s journal, the videos are the keystones of the storyline. They allow the player to reconstitute the events. Shot in 5 countries (France, England, Italy, Turkey and Greece), the movies last a total 90 minutes. They have an important role in the gameplay, because some of them contains decisive clues for the investigation..

DSCN1427

DSCN1402

DSCN0042

DSCN0644

Press review

In Memoriam is like no other game and nobody went so far in immersion (…) This game mixes reality and fiction in a magnificent way. Libération

The atmosphere of Seven. Le Figaro

A complete success. Le Point

A both innovative and captivating interactive fiction. Télérama

Video game reinvented. La Tribune de Genève

You never played something like that! PC Jeu

A unique experience. Jeu vidéo Magazine

In Memoriam take the concept of video games a step further. Jeuvideo.com

A great success. Joystick

This true playable UFO forces respect thanks to an immensly rich background, authentic video sequences and a captivating storyline. We have been charmed. Gamekult

Missing is one of the most gratifying adventure games you can play. Computer Games

A great game that’s reinvent the notion of interactivity! FuitilliumS.

An engrossing and unique experience. GameSpot

Awards

In Memoriam 1 and 2 won several international awards (Prix SACD, Imagina Awards, Into the pixel…).

Making of

See also In Memoriam 2

Social

Language

North WordPress Theme by Themelovin, Elite ThemeForest Author.

Un thriller interactif où réalité et fiction se mélangent

In Memoriam

Fiction transmédia, Jeu vidéo, Principales créations
« Tu sentiras bientôt mon souffle chaud sur ta peau. Inutile de fermer ta porte. A très bientôt Poussin. »

 

Edité par Ubisoft en Europe et par The Adventure Company aux US sous le titre Missing since January, le jeu In Memoriam sort en Octobre 2003.

Il inaugure un nouveau genre de jeu d’enquête complètement ouvert sur Internet, et dans lequel la frontière entre réalité et fiction s’efface. Le succès est au rendez-vous et très vite des centaines de milliers de joueurs se lancent à la poursuite du Phoenix, un tueur en série cultivé et très intelligent, qui s’amuse à narguer les autorités et les joueurs-enquêteurs lancés à ses trousses. Le jeu deviendra culte. Il est souvent cité comme une oeuvre de référence en matière de jeu en réalité alterné (alternateur reality game ou A.R.G en anglais).

PresseIM

Synopsis

Alors qu’il enquêtait sur une série de meurtres étranges commis à travers toute l’Europe, le journaliste Jack Lorski finit par disparaître avec Karen Gijman, une jeune femme qui l’accompagnait dans son enquête. Quelques semaines plus tard, l’agence SKL Network, pour laquelle travaille Jack Lorski reçoit un pli envoyé par le tueur en série. Ce pli contient un étrange cd-rom, conçu comme un jeu vidéo. Ne parvenant pas à le décrypter, l’agence décide, en accord avec la police, de diffuser le cd-rom, seul indice qui permettrait de retrouver le journaliste disparu. C’est désormais à vous qu’il appartient de tenter de décrypter le programme et de tenter de résoudre les énigmes créées par le tueur. Accepterez-vous de rentrer dans son jeu ?

cd-im

presse1

Teaser

Gameplay

In Memoriam se joue principalement sur Cd-rom. Pour avancer dans l’aventure, il faut résoudre les énigmes tordues du tueur. Ces énigmes font appel à l’intelligence et la logique mais certaines d’entre elles ne peuvent être résolues qu’en se rendant sur Internet pour y trouver des indices ou des informations liées à l’enquête.

im1_02

im1_06

4_1athoub

04_abai_02_dev

Screens du jeu

De nombreux éléments de l’histoire se fondent sur des faits réels, rendant très floue la distinction entre réalité et fiction : vrais et faux sites Internet, faux articles de journaux, fausses annonces ou commentaires laissés sur de vrais sites, etc. Plus d’une centaines de sites ont ainsi été créés spécialement pour le jeu ou liés à lui.

im_web

Patchwork de différents sites créés pour le jeu

Le joueur reçoit également des emails de différents personnages qui l’aident dans son enquête, et même, à certains moments clés, des messages du tueur ! Contrairement aux jeux classiques où l’on incarne un personnage virtuel, dans In Memoriam, les joueurs jouent leur propre rôle. Ils sont en immersion dans une histoire qui progressivement entre dans leur vie, créant un sentiment d’immersion rarement atteint jusqu’alors. Progressivement, ils reconstituent la trame d’une étonnante enquête policière dont ils sont les héros et qui ne pourra pas se dénouer sans eux.

Premier chapitre (commentaires US)

 Films

Totalement transmédia, le jeu réunit de nombreuses vidéos, en plus des énigmes, des mails et des sites internet. Extraits du journal filmé de Jack Lorski, ces vidéos, dérobées par le tueur, constituent la clé de voûte du scénario. Elles permettent aux joueurs de reconstituer l’histoire et de s’attacher aux personnages qu’ils doivent sauver. Tournés dans cinq pays (France, Angleterre, Italie, Turquie, Grèce), ces films, mis bout à bout, forment un long métrage d’une heure trente environ. Ils sont également un élément à part entière du gameplay, puisque certains d’entre eux contiennent des indices essentiels pour l’enquête.

DSCN1427

DSCN1402

DSCN0042

DSCN0644

Revue de presse

In Memoriam ne ressemble à aucun autre jeu et personne ne s’était aventuré aussi loin dans l’immersion (…) Ce jeu mixe magnifiquement fiction et réalité. Libération

Une ambiance digne de Seven. Le Figaro

Une totale réussite. Le Point

Une fiction interactive innovante et envoûtante. Télérama

Le jeu vidéo réinventé. La Tribune de Genève

Vous n’aviez jamais joué ça ! PC Jeu

Une expérience unique. Jeu vidéo Magazine

In Memoriam pousse le concept du jeu vidéo un peu plus loin. Jeuvideo.com

Une grande réussite. Joystick

Ce véritable OVNI ludique impose le respect devant son background immensément riche, ses séquences vidéo authentiques et son scénario captivant. Nous avons été conquis. Gamekult

Missing is one of the most gratifying adventure games you can play. Computer Games

A great game that’s reinvent the notion of interactivity ! FuitilliumS.

An engrossing and unique experience. GameSpot

Prix

In Memoriam 1 et 2 ont reçu de nombreux prix internationaux (Prix SACD, Imagina Awards, Into the pixel…).

Making of

Voir également In Memoriam 2

Social

North WordPress Theme by Themelovin, Elite ThemeForest Author.